Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #29: No Parking at the End Times by Bryan Bliss

Happy Wednesday, fellow book lovers! This week's "can't wait to read" is:

No Parking at the End Times
by Bryan Bliss
Publication Date: February 25, 2015

Abigail’s parents have made mistake after mistake, and now they've lost everything. She’s left to decide: Does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.

Abigail doesn't know how her dad found Brother John. Maybe it was the billboards. Or the radio. What she does know is that he never should have made that first donation. Or the next, or the next. Her parents shouldn't have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there with Brother John for the "end of the world." Because of course the end didn't come. And now they're living in their van. And Aaron’s disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right. But maybe it’s too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss’s thoughtful, literary debut novel is about losing everything—and about what you will do for the people you love.

As my regular readers may have gathered, I do not read much contemporary fiction. This one sounds like something I could totally get into though. I have a kind of fascination with people spazzing out over the end of the world. Back in 2012 I enjoyed the looks of horror when I told people I was getting married on Doomsday (not on purpose, it just happened that way). I think this book could be a fun look into the kinds of people who would sell everything because people thousands of years ago made a prediction! I'll definitely be giving it a try.

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.