Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #83: Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana

Happy Wednesday, fellow book lovers! This week's "can't wait to read" is:

Mirror in the Sky
by Aditi Khorana
Publication Date: June 21, 2016
An evocative debut, perfect for fans of Tommy Wallach's We All Looked Up, about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl's junior year.

For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices.

The world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, and Tara’s life on Earth begins to change. At first, small shifts happen, like attention from Nick Osterman, the most popular guy at Brierly, and her mother playing hooky from work to watch the news all day. But eventually those small shifts swell, the discovery of Terra Nova like a black hole, bending all the light around it.

As a new era of scientific history dawns and Tara's life at Brierly continues its orbit, only one thing is clear: Nothing on Earth--and for Tara--will ever be the same again.
I know this says it's for fans of We All Looked Up, but I definitely think this one sounds even better! I love the idea of life being discovered on other planets! And a MIRROR planet?? I cannot wait to read this one!

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine.